Posted by: brendablackmonmy9 | June 10, 2009

Valleys and Mountains

Today I was driving to work with grey cloudy skies waiting to squeeze out raindrops only to be interrupted by a splash of sunshine.  Out of nowhere.  What a pleasant surprise.  And so unexpected!  And I thought.  That’s just how life is.  Just as you expect the rain to come and get all grey and down and gloomy with nothing much to look forward to, boom!   Change!  Just what you weren’t looking to happen, happens!   And what you had all planned out  for:  a valley complete with slumps and moodiness and a bit of  doldrums dumped in is suddenly swapped.  Instead there’s a mountain with a shimmer of light peeping across the peek.  You know there’s a climb to make it, but  it beats this valley!  Compare it to the saddest day you can remember.  And then be reminded you’ve had the happiest day you can remember too.  You’ve had laughs that made you bend over and nearly have to…well, you know.  And you’ve also cried for so long you thought you didn’t have another tear inside.  That’s all life.  Ups and downs.  Happy days and sad ones too.  Awful times.  Good times.  Valleys and mountains.  Part of  today, you may be down in the dumps but you will see that mountaintop and the light it will bring.  The glow of something wonderful can come in your life and be just a climb away.  It may not be easy.  Patience seldom is.  But remember, this is just the valley.  The temporary valley.  The mountaintop will soon be seen.


Responses

  1. I am a 30 year old woman and I have Lupus. It is unquestionably a daily battle, as I never know when it will strike. I spent some time in the hospital about a year ago and am slowly returning to the top. I decided that I want to have a baby but have been told to not try. Usually, when I want something I do what I have to, to get it. I have always wanted to be a mother and cannot believe that there is something standing in my way. Will the glow of something wonderful come into my life? Is it just a climb away?

  2. I hear ya Brenda! Thank you.


Leave a comment

Categories