Posted by: brendablackmonmy9 | June 17, 2009

Monroe College

monroecollege

Brenda Blackmon and President JeromeFor 76 years now Monroe College has been graduating students and this year it took three ceremonies to confer degrees upon all of them.  More that three thousand graduates!  I got to address them!  On what you may ask?  “I Believe In Miracles” was my central theme.  Personal evidence: Making it from Columbus, Georgia and a television station in the 100+ television market to the number one tv market,  beating back challenges of discrimination all along the way.  Evidence: Covering Ku Klux Klan rallies in the South and the Pope in Rome; Presidential inaugurations in Washington and 9-11 here at home.  I believe  in miracles and I believe that prayer is still important and so is washing your hands and saying please and thank-you.  But most of all I believe in Monroe College and its graduates who are taught from the beginning the importance of  meeting fellow students from around the world.  Experiencing different cultures.  That is such a crucial part of education to me.  Experiencing life as seen through the lives of others.  Sharing.  Caring.  About others who are different from you.  Other cultures.  Others’ lives.   More than 16,000 people attended all three graduations that day. I am so blessed to have been apart of one. And to have seen first hand, global education at work. Congrats Class of 2009!  And thanks to College President, Stephen J. Jerome and Executive Vice President Marc Jerome who educated me about Monroe College.Brenda Blackmon in receiving line 2Brenda Blackmon at podium 1

Brenda Blackmon at podium 3Brends Blackmon at podium 2


Leave a comment

Categories